Quick Links

Useful Links

St Thomas Aquinas

Year 6 Transition

OCR Cambridge Level 3 Technicals in HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE

EXAM BOARD: OCR Cambridge Technical
At St Thomas Aquinas we offer the following qualifications in Health & Social Care
OCR Health & Social Care Level 3 Extended Certificate (1 A level)
OCR Health & Social Care Level 3 - Diploma (2 A level’s)
OCR Health & Social Care Level 3 – Extended Diploma (3 A level’s)

5 GCSE’s 9-4 including English minimum 4

Students in year 12 and 13 will have an opportunity through applied learning to develop the core specialist knowledge, skills and understanding required in the Health & Social Care sector.

Exam board and specification: OCR Cambridge Technicals Level 3 Health & Social Care
This qualification provides a broad basis of study for the health and social care sector. This qualification is designed to support progression to higher education when taken as part of a programme of study that includes other appropriate qualifications.
All courses are made up of Mandatory and Optional units. There are exam units and units which are internally assessed and subject to External Verification. Units include:
Unit 1 – Building Positive Relationships in Health and Social Care – Coursework unit
Unit 2 - Equality, Diversity and Rights in Health and Social Care – Exam Unit
Unit 3 – Health, Safety and Security in Health and Social Care – Exam Unit
Unit 4 – Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care – Exam Unit
Unit 16 – Supporting People with Dementia – Coursework unit
Unit 24 – Public Health – Coursework unit

With further training or study, students go on to careers such as nursing, care management, teaching, social work and early year’s education. For immediate employment you could work and train in a nursery or early years environment, registered care home, nursing home or health centre and still have the opportunity to continue your training with an NVQ at college.